In residence with Gaudi – pt.1

Casa Calvet isn’t open to the public so I stood outside and took ‘gawking tourist’ photos.

There is more, and I particularly would have liked to visit Colonia Güell, but alas, too much to see, too little time.
The other Gaudi places that I did get to visit are all residential: Palau Güell, Casa Batlló, and the apartment block Casa Milà, aka La Pedrera.

I found Palau Güell, just off Las Ramblas, hard to navigate – but that could have been more to do with my disorentation due to being in a new city (the day after I arrived from Barcelona) or related to not all rooms being open. Who knows? But from the stables in the basement (proof that I take a lot of rubbish photos!), with a cobblestoned ramp for the horses, to the spire and (apparently, I didn’t count them) 20 chimney pots on the roof, it was a wonderful introduction to Gaudi in Barcelona. In between, while there are big windows in the rooms where public receptions were held, the place is rather dark – dark wood panelling inside, heavy but ornate shutters outside. Amazing ceilings too!

Palau Güell is just off Las Ramblas. When I was there, it was ahead of a referendum about Catalunya becoming independent. Hence all the flags on so many buildings. The referendum was downgraded to an expression of interest and the Spanish government wasn’t bound by the result … which was in favour of independence, as could have been predicted! But no change.

Palau Guell from Las Ramblas

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Barcelona, Buildings and Architecture, Gaudi, Last Hurrah, Spain. Bookmark the permalink.