Quirks and other attractions – Sagrada Familia (pt.2)

Both inside and out, it’s impossible to take in all that is Sagrada Familia. Although indoors, so to speak, the spaces still soar: one must look up as well as around!

I’m sure you could line up 100 people and each would have something different that attracted them or had some special resonance. For me it was …

Glass, always glass – I’d rather glass than silver or gold. Two of these are special to me – my dear young friend Gemma with her namesake in the lowest left blue circle. And Llucia – for my second granddaughter Lucille who, three months before my trip, did not live beyond birth.

I’ve climbed lots of odd stairs back in my ringing days (and also for the small bit of ringing I did in England on this trip). So stairways caught my attention. I’m most used to the narrowest kind!

The first I saw of the cryptogram was on a postcard. I think (don’t hold me to it!) the original is on one of the external doors. I was lucky to spot it – although being polished definitely helped. There is a larger (looks newer) version carved next to a pair of statues to the left of the Crucifixion scene. I found the explanation down in the crypt.

Down in the crypt it is “less Gaudi”, more traditionally beautiful. Here there was a real roof boss. What looked like roof bosses upstairs were all, as far as I could tell, light fittings – spectacular ones for all that!

“Outside and round the back” there is what was built as a temporary school for children of site workers and also for local children. The desks looked eerily familiar – way too similar to those I sat at during my primary school years!


A re-creation of Gaudi’s work desk is also housed in the school building. A workman’s clutter!DSCN4790

Sagrada Familia is an outstanding feat of architecture, still coming to fruition. But I do wonder what non-Christians make of it all, the Word made flesh.DSCN4559

Gaudi is still on the work site.
His body is buried in the crypt, overlooked by a statue of the Madonna and Child. So fitting for a man devoted to his work and his God.

 

This entry was posted in Barcelona, Buildings and Architecture, Churches and Cathedrals, Gaudi, Last Hurrah, Spain. Bookmark the permalink.