Sad to report …

… the demise of my much loved red shoes.

I tried to replace them before leaving on this trip but this season’s model wasn’t quite the same and didn’t fit me properly. For a while I’d kept them (so I tell myself) in the ‘comfortably worn’ class rather than the ‘totally shabby’ category by giving them a buff with red polish every so often. But nothing can be done about the splits that have appeared in the soles.

I’ll give them another wear – just as well there’s no rain – but fear, sadly, that that will be it for one of the best pairs of shoes I’ve ever had.

Binning these faithful servants will give a bit more room in my bag, but alas not much weight. Air New Zealand have a lower weight allowance than Qantas (the latter I’ve always made comfortably) and things are starting to feel a bit tight. I think I might have to be ruthless when doing the final pack in Vancouver.

This entry was posted in Miscellaneous. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

